SEM-IMAGES OF BUTTERFLIES

Butterflies have remarkably big compound eyes with exeptionally many ommatidia. While dragonflies need high-resolution images to catch their prey when flying one expects butterflies to have much smaller compound eyes. Perhaps they need high resolution images of their environment to compensate the permanently varying perspective produced by their wobbling flight.

 
  1a 1b

Not only the wings, but even the antennae of butterflies are densely covered with scales, some of which even protect the olfactory pits.

 
  1a 1b 1c 1d 1e
 
  2a 2b 2c 2d 2e
 
  3a 3b 3c
 
  4a 4b 4c 4d 4e
 
  5a 5b 5c 5d 5e
 
  6a 6b 6c 6d
     
  7a 7b 7c

Even the legs are covered with scales. The construction of what is called the "distal claw" is sometimes very complex. Sequence 1 shows that this species has something like a trigonal thumb, covered with peculiarly shaped scales, which forms the counterpart of a pair of claws. In addition the legs are covered with many sensory bristles. The special function is usually unknown, but there is evidence that insects can not only detect mechanical influences with these bristles, but vibrations of the air. And meanwhile scientists have found out, that butterflies (and probably many other insects) can even detect electrostatic fields with their sensory bristles!

     
  1a 1b 1c 1d    
     
  2a 2b 2c 2d    
 
  3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f
   
  4a 4b 4c      
   
  5a 5b 5c 5d  
   
  6a 6b 6c 6d 6e  
       
  7a 7b 7c

 

We all admire the splendid colors of butterflies. These colors are caused by tiny scales which cover both sides of the wings. Usually these scales contain pigments but sometimes brillant colors are a consequence of spectral interference, as the textures of the scales are of the same magnitude as light waves. Even a simple bright field microscope shows the variety of shapes, but you need a SEM to study the structures adequately. The microscope usually shows narrow parallel grooves only, while the SEM demonstrates that most of the scales are perforated. The tiny gaps have a diameter of about 1 um. Whether these structures have a special function is unknown. Perhaps they help the butterflies to perform their typical wobbling flight, which enables them to escape their enemies.

There may be different types of scales on the same wing. Besides there are often bristles between the scales. Sequence 8 shows non-perforated scales.

 
1a 1b 1c  
 
2a 2b 2c 2d  
 
3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f  
 
4a 4b 4c 4d 4e 4f  
 
5a 5b 5c 5d 5d-Stereo (PICOLAY)  
 
6a 6b 6c 6d 6e 6f  
   
  7a 7b 7c 7d 7e 7f
 
  8a 8b 8c 8d 8e 8f 8g
 
  9a 9b 9c 9d 9e
 
  10a 10b 10c 10d 10e
 
  11a 11b 11c 11d 11e 11f 11g
 
  12a 12b 12c 12d 12e
 
  13a 13b 13c 13d 13e 13f
     
  14a 14b 14c 14d 14e
 
  15a 15b 15c 15d 15e
   
  16a 16b 16c 16d 16e 16f

Sequences 11 and 15 demonstrate that the smallest structures have a dimension of about 0,1 um. If you bundle such structures in the densest way possible you can store 10 Billions per square centimeter or about 100 Billions on the wings of a butterfly of average size. Let us assume now that every element represents a memory unit of one Bit: Then you can store 100 Billion Bit or 12,5 Gigabyte on the wings of one butterfly! This number shows in an impressive way the subtle texture of the scales!

To compare the SEM images with images produced with a bright field microscope (100x objective, immersion) click on the link given here: Bright field images of butterfly scales

All images have been sampled down.



Copyright: webmaster@mikrohamburg.de

SCHMETTERLINGE UNTERM REM

Schmetterlinge besitzen bemerkenswert große Komplexaugen mit überdurchschnittlich vielen Ommatidien. Während dies bei Libellen, die ihre Beute im Fluge fangen, nicht erstaunt, ist dies bei Schmetterlingen doch recht verwunderlich. Möglicherweise ist dies eine Anpassung an ihren "Flatterflug", bei dem sich der Blickwinkel naturgemäß ständig ändert. Die folgenden Bilder zeigen einen Ausschnitt eines Schmetterlingsauges.

 
  1a 1b

Auch die Fühler eines Schmetterlings sind mit Schuppen und Borsten besetzt, wie die Bildreihen zeigen. Bemerkenswert ist, daß die Riechgruben von Schuppen umgeben sind.

 
  1a 1b 1c 1d 1e
 
  2a 2b 2c 2d 2e
 
  3a 3b 3c
 
  4a 4b 4c 4d 4e
 
  5a 5b 5c 5d 5e
 
  6a 6b 6c 6d
     
  7a 7b 7c

Selbst die Beine der Schmetterlinge sind mit Schuppen bedeckt. Recht kompliziert ist die Konstruktion der "Endklaue" der hier gezeigten Arten. Bildreihe 1 zeigt, daß die Art über einen dreieckigen "Daumen" verfügt, der wiederum mit speziell geformten Schuppen bedeckt ist.

     
  1a 1b 1c 1d    
     
  2a 2b 2c 2d    
 
  3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f
   
  4a 4b 4c      
   
  5a 5b 5c 5d  
   
  6a 6b 6c 6d 6e  
       
  7a 7b 7c

Wir alle bewundern die prachtvoll gefärbten Flügel der Schmetterlinge. Träger dieser Farben sind kleine Chitinschuppen, sog. "Flügelschuppen". Schon im Lichtmikroskop erkennt man den Formenreichtum dieser Gebilde, aber erst im Rasterelektronenmikroskop offenbart sich ihr Feinbau: Während man im Lichtmikroskop gewöhnlich nur feine Längsrillen erkennt, zeigt das REM, daß die Flügelschuppen häufig durchbrochen sind. Die feinen Löcher oder Schlitze zwischen den Längsriefen besitzen einen Durchmesser von ca. 1 um. Ihr "biologischer Sinn" ist unbekannt. Zu vermuten ist, daß erst diese spezielle Formgebung den "unberechenbaren" Flatterflug der meisten Schmetterlinge ermöglicht, wodurch sie Freßfeinden leichter entkommen können.

Bemerkenswert ist der Formenreichtum sowohl der Schuppen als auch deren Feinstruktur, wobei mehrere Schuppentypen auf demselben Flügel vorkommen können, nicht selten zusammen mit kleinen Borsten. Zudem kommen auch Schuppen ohne "Schlitze" vor, wie Bildreihe 8 zeigt.

 
1a 1b 1c  
 
2a 2b 2c 2d  
 
3a 3b 3c 3d 3e 3f  
 
4a 4b 4c 4d 4e 4f  
 
5a 5b 5c 5d 5d-Stereo (PICOLAY)  
 
6a 6b 6c 6d 6e 6f  
   
  7a 7b 7c 7d 7e 7f
 
  8a 8b 8c 8d 8e 8f 8g
 
  9a 9b 9c 9d 9e
 
  10a 10b 10c 10d 10e
 
  11a 11b 11c 11d 11e 11f 11g
 
  12a 12b 12c 12d 12e
 
  13a 13b 13c 13d 13e 13f
     
  14a 14b 14c 14d 14e
 
  15a 15b 15c 15d 15e
   
  16a 16b 16c 16d 16e 16f

 

Wie die Bilder 11g und 15e zeigen, besitzen die Feinststrukturen einen Durchmesser von weniger als 0,1 um. Geht man von einer "maximalen Packungsdichte" aus, kämen 10 Milliarden Strukturelemente auf den Quadratzentimeter oder etwa 100 Milliarden auf die Flügelfläche eines Falters durchschnittlicher Größe. Denkt man sich jedes dieser Strukturelemente als Speicherelemente für je ein Bit, könnte man 100 Milliarden Bit oder rund 12,5 Gigabyte auf einem Schmetterlingsflügel abspeichern. Diese Zahl verdeutlicht eindrucksvoll den Grad der Feinstrukturierung der Flügelschuppen! Die Idee zu dieser Rechnung stammt von Herrn Jorrit Köchel, der am 16.04.2016 einen sehr interessanten Vortrag zu diesem Thema hielt.

Zum Vergleich sind auf der folgenden Seite lichtmikroskopische Aufnahmen von Schmetterlingsschuppen wiedergegeben, alle aufgenommen mit 100-fach Ölimmersion.

Alle Bilder wurden heruntergesampelt.